Forever Young

Once, I heard a person sing a song.
His words, I thought could be right or wrong.
He had wished he could always be young.
“Impossible”, I said “It can’t be”.
“This, the world is yet to hear and see”
“Like honey could be without the bee”
Some things were just not made to be so.
Every man, when born must have to grow.
And old age is where we all head to.

Suppose these things could really happen,
Men, on earth might live like in heaven…
Or evil might find a safe haven.
But I heard man was not made to die…
And to Life, he not to say goodbye.
This, I know could not have been a lie.
It is written in God’s Holy Book
When the whole earth still had a new look
Before man’s rights, satan came and took.

If only I myself could be so…
So many things I would do and know.
For Life, I would say no goodbye to.
As a youth I would always remain.
And the whole earth would be my domain.
As evil, through me would all be slain.
And now, on Life’s route I walk along,
As a youth with thoughts right and thoughts wrong,
I do wish I could always be young.

(C) 2010
Peter Akhere

Leave a Reply

