MIRROR IMAGE

Love your neighbour as yourself…
Thus goes the scriptures.
But what if that neighbour is myself,
An image of reflected pictures.

I looked at you and saw a most familiar face.
I listened to your words and heard the echo of my voice.
So I came to hold your hand and I felt my heart race.
Amidst confusing options, I took you for my choice.

Time and time again, discontented my mind was,
Yet to reject, my heart would not partake.
For when I tried, my back to turn against yours,
I saw myself as the image I forsake.

So here I stand looking into the mirror
Seeing your eyes staring back at me
And no matter what I see as a blemish or an error,
I am reminded that you are a part of me.

(C) Peter Akhere

Leave a Reply

