When I was still a Child

When I was still a child
Often, I wondered why
Some men have riches piled.
But some of lack do die.
Why can’t all men be rich?
And let no man be poor?
It’s for the work of each,
Reward only comes for.

When I was still so young
Often, I noticed that
Some things were just called ‘wrong’
And often frowned at.
Why can’t they just be done
And just be seen as ‘Right’?
Actions beneath the Sun
With effects come to light.

When I was just a boy
Often, I simply thought
Some days are filled with Joy
But some, sorrows unsought.
Why can’t joy always reign?
And sorrows not exist?
With changes comes some pains,
And ‘bad’ with ‘good’ is mixed.

Now I am all grown up
And my wonders differ.
The humble, God lifts up.
But the proud do suffer.
Why is with ‘fall’ pride known?
And does the meek, grace crown?
Men reap what was sown.
And the way up is down.

(C) Peter Akhere.

2 thoughts on “When I was still a Child”

Leave a Reply

